This Day in Tech History

On This Day . . .

Blinky, Pinky, Inky and Clyde

pacman-thumbsupMay 22, 1980:  Pac Man Released

The first Pac-Man machine was installed. Namco installed the first Pac-Man machine in a movie theater in Tokyo.

PuckMan

PuckMan

Created by Toru Iwatani…

Toru-Iwatani_BIOboxart_160w dsc068461-copy 7DAF221BC3C9FD9C3CB932C3BD3770

…the game has been one of the most popular in Arcades around the world. It inspired spin-offs, songs, a cartoon show and much more.  It was originally called ‘Puckman’ as a play on the word ‘paku-paku (パックマン) taberu’ in Japanese that means something to the effect of flapping your mouth open and closed. By the time the game is released in October in the US, the name is Pacman.

10 things you didn’t know about PAC-MAN

1. The design for the iconic Pac-Man character is based on a pizza with a slice missing.

torueatspizza-pre

2. Although Pac-man’s creator, Iwatani, has stated that the character’s shape was inspired by a pizza, he admitted in a 1986 interview that this was a half-truth, and the character design also came from simplifying and rounding out the Japanese character for mouth, ’kuchi’.

3. Pac-Man was originally named Puck-man. Fearing that American hoodlums would scratch off part of the ’P’ to make an ’F’, the manufacturers changed it to Pac-Man for North America.

4. The ghosts that pursue Pac-Man are nicknamed Blinky, Pinky, Inky and Clyde, and each has a distinct personality. Blinky and Pinky are the most predictable and chase Pac-Man directly, sometimes teaming up. Inky’s tactic is to ambush, while Clyde is the one to fear most because his movements are random.

5. The arcade version of Pac-Man has a highest possible score of 3,333,360 … which has been achieved by less than 10 people ever.

6. In 2004, a group of University students transformed New York’s city blocks into a real-world Pac-Man game. One student, dressed in a yellow Pac-Man costume, ran through the streets of Greenwich Village while being chased by four others dressed as ghosts. The players carried phones so that their teammates could track their positions using GPS. They called the game ‘Pac-Manhattan’.

7. The duo of Buckner and Garcia entered the pop charts in 1982 with a song called ‘Pac-Man Fever’. It went to #9 on the Billboard Hot 100 charts.

8. In 2005, Guinness World Records named Pac-Man the most successful coin-op ever.

9. Guinness also named Pac-Man himself as the most recognizable video game character of all time with 94% consumer recognition.

10. In May 2010, Google celebrated 30 years of Pac-man with a special logo. Shaped in the company’s name, it was a fully-playable Pac-man game.

Warning, can be addictive – Do not play at work 🙂

http://www.webpacman.com/

Single Post Navigation

14 thoughts on “Blinky, Pinky, Inky and Clyde

  1. Fantastic site. Plenty of useful information here. I am sending it to some
    buddies ans also sharing in delicious. And certainly, thanks for your effort!

  2. Undeniably believe that which you said. Your favorite reason appeared to be
    on the net the easiest thing to be aware of. I say to you, I definitely
    get annoyed while people think about worries that they just do not know
    about. You managed to hit the nail upon the top and also
    defined out the whole thing without having side effect , people
    could take a signal. Will likely be back to get more. Thanks

  3. I really like reading a post that will make men and women think.
    Also, thank you for allowing me to comment!

  4. This blog was… how do you say it? Relevant!! Finally I’ve found something which helped me.
    Thanks a lot!

  5. I have read so many content about the blogger lovers
    except this paragraph is really a nice post, keep it up.

  6. Thank you for every other informative site. The place else may just I get
    that kind of information written in such a perfect approach?
    I have a mission that I’m just now working on,
    and I’ve been on the look out for such information.

  7. I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was wondering what
    all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming having
    a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny? I’m not very web savvy so I’m not 100% positive.
    Any tips or advice would be greatly appreciated.
    Appreciate it

    • This web page does not cost anything. I use the free version. Just pick your content, your interests, your subject and start writing. The hardest thing is learning to use the Word Press tools like creating different fonts or adding pictures and picking a style for your site.

  8. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an incredibly long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t show up.
    Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again. Anyways, just wanted to say
    superb blog!

  9. Hi, i think that i saw you visited my web site so i got here to go back
    the want?.I’m attempting to in finding issues to enhance my web site!I suppose its adequate to
    use some of your ideas!!

  10. Hello! This is my first visit to your blog! We are a team of volunteers and starting a new initiative in a community in the same niche.
    Your blog provided us beneficial information to work on. You have done a marvellous job!

  11. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Seldom do I encounter a blog that’s both equally educative and
    engaging, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail on the head.
    The issue is something which too few men and women are speaking intelligently about.
    Now i’m very happy that I stumbled across this in my hunt for
    something relating to this.

  12. Hello mates, fastidious paragraph and nice
    arguments commented here, I am actually enjoying by these.

Leave a Reply

